Aura House Alternative — Scentia vs Aura House
Aura House and Scentia both make waterless cold-air diffusers with clean-formulated fragrance oils. Both sell outright, both offer an optional subscription, and both publish clean-ingredient standards. The differences come down to oil sizing, coverage range, subscription value, and where the oils are made.
Comparison verified September 2026 from aurahouse.com. Specifications and pricing change — check both sites before deciding.
Scentia vs Aura House at a glance
| Scentia | Aura House | |
|---|---|---|
| Fragrance oil sizes | 20ml · 50ml · 120ml · 500ml | 30ml · 400ml |
| Mid-size option | Yes — 50ml and 120ml | No |
| Portable diffuser coverage | Up to 1,500 sq ft (Scentia Max) | Up to 650 sq ft (Aura V3, $79) |
| Whole-home / HVAC coverage | Up to 5,500 sq ft (Scentia Casa) | 2,500+ sq ft (HVAC diffuser) |
| Subscription discount | 15% off refills | 10% off monthly oil deliveries |
| Subscription commitment | 3 deliveries, then cancel anytime | 3 months, then cancel anytime |
| Early exit | Repay the discount received | Pay the difference from original retail value |
| Standard warranty | 6 months | 1 year (lifetime for active subscribers) |
| Oils made in | USA — hand-poured in Miami | Not stated |
| Phthalate-free · paraben-free · vegan | Yes | Yes |
| IFRA compliant | Yes | Yes |
| Proprietary cartridge | No — open system | No — open system |
What sizes do Aura House fragrance oils come in?
Aura House offers two sizes: 30ml and 400ml. There is no size in between, and oils are priced at $40.
That works if your usage matches one of those two points. It becomes awkward in the middle — when a 30ml bottle runs out faster than you would like, but 400ml is more than you want to commit to one scent.
Does Scentia offer mid-size fragrance oils?
Yes — four sizes: 20ml, 50ml, 120ml and 500ml.
The 20ml is for sampling and appears in our sample sets. The 50ml at $37 suits a single room. The 120ml at $47 works out to $0.39 per ml, roughly half the cost per ml of the 50ml, and is the size most people settle on once they have found a scent they run daily. The 500ml is for whole-home or commercial use.
Which brand covers a larger space?
Scentia, at both ends of the range.
The Aura V3 is rated to 650 sq ft. The Scentia Max covers up to 1,500 sq ft from a single wireless unit. For whole-building scenting, the Aura House HVAC diffuser is rated at 2,500+ sq ft against the Scentia Casa at up to 5,500 sq ft.
For a bedroom, an office or a small apartment, either brand covers it comfortably. The difference matters in open-plan homes, larger properties and commercial spaces. For smaller spaces we make the Pod and the MiniPod, both up to 500 sq ft, with the MiniPod starting at $39.99.
How do the subscriptions compare?
Both are optional, and both work the same way structurally.
Aura House offers 10% off monthly fragrance oil deliveries, with a three-month commitment. Cancel before the three months are up and you pay the difference between the subscription price and original retail value.
Scentia offers 15% off oil replenishment across three deliveries. Stop before the third and you repay the discount already received.
Same commitment shape, same exit mechanic. The difference is the discount rate: 15% against 10%.
How do the warranties compare?
Aura House offers a longer standard warranty than we do, and it is worth saying so plainly.
Their diffusers carry a 1-year standard warranty, extended to lifetime for as long as a subscription stays active. Scentia diffusers carry a 6-month manufacturer warranty, not tied to any subscription.
If warranty length is your deciding factor, Aura House is ahead here.
Are both brands' oils clean-formulated?
Fragrance brands may publish ingredient and conformity information. Such information does not establish suitability for every person or animal. Review product-specific documentation and follow our Safety & Use guidelines.
Aura House follows Clean at Sephora standards. Scentia oils are additionally RIFM compliant, petroleum-free, produced in accordance with the Toxic Substances Control Act, aligned with California Air Resources Board VOC guidelines, and free of carcinogens as defined by the NTP or IARC. Full detail is on our ingredient standards page.
On the core clean-formulation claims, this is a tie.
Where are the oils made?
Scentia fragrance oils are made in the United States, blended and hand-poured at our facility in Miami, Florida, and every order ships from Miami. Aura House does not state a country of manufacture for its oils on its website.
Our diffusers are designed in the USA and built to US engineering specifications; the oils are the part manufactured domestically.
Can I use Scentia oils in an Aura House diffuser?
Both brands use open-system cold-air diffusers with no proprietary cartridge, so pure undiluted fragrance oil generally works across compatible units. Check your manual before switching, and note that Aura House recommends its own cleaner for maintenance.
If you already own a cold-air diffuser, the Top 3 Sample Set at $29.99 is the simplest way to compare the oils themselves.
Which should you choose?
Aura House may suit you if warranty length matters most, if you want the aluminium build and their scent range, or if a single 650 sq ft unit covers your space.
Scentia is likely the better fit if you want mid-size oil options and a lower cost per ml, if you need coverage beyond 650 sq ft from one unit, if a 15% subscription discount beats 10%, or if US-made oils and published safety documentation matter to you.
The lowest-risk comparison is the oils, since they work across compatible machines. Start with the Top 3 Sample Set, or browse the full Luxury Resort Collection.

